Meet the 2018 Summer Soldiers

The Summer Soldiers program was developed as an incentive to recognize football players for their commitment in the classroom, commitment to growing Newport football in the community, and commitment to preparation in the offseason. The response was amazing! We had over 60 athletes turn out at some point this summer and had 21 players that joined an elite squad known as the Summer Soldiers. The following 21 players scored enough points in a combination of GPA, community service, and offseason attendance to weight room/other sp.

Congratulations to the 22 players who worked to earn their Summer Soldier award!


Sean An(**** 4 time honor); Ryan Chu, Hamilton Hergott, Tre Louis****, Jenna Martz****, Roman Morrison, Aiden Pickering****, Logan Richard***, Alex Tzekov, Trey Wikstrom

Nathan Chang, Jack Denger, Nathan Li, Aln Wu 

Nicholas Edwards**, Brandon Gladner, Josh Hoffman**, Tyler LoMauro, Mason Pickering,Jackson Slater, Nirun Turner  

These student-athletes all earned a prestigious Summer Soldiers t-shirt for their efforts and are wearing a special helmet decal to commemorate their efforts.




2017 Captains Named


The Newport Knights have named their Captains for the 2017 football season.  Brandon Steinberg, Charlie Baumann, Marcus Fukutomi and Justin Anderson will be leading the Knights this year on the gridiron!

Newport Football Powerlifters Place At State


Several Newport Football Players anchored the 2014 Newport Powerlifting team (coached by our own Bob Richardson) that placed 3rd at the State Powerlifting Tournament on May 3rd!

Thomas Day 148 State Champion

Nkumbu Chisebuka 165 State Champion

Nolan Richardson 242 2nd Place

Drew Sample Unlimited 2nd Place

David Kim 198 5th Place

Alex Yee 220 6th Place


Meet the 2015 Summer Soldiers

Congratulations to the 21 players who worked to earn their Summer Soldier award!

2015Summer Soldiers

Dylan Murphy
David Kim
Logan Anderson
Thomas Day
Chris Orrico
Nick Lounsberry
Dalton Voeller

Caleb Richardson
Ty Garner
Ethan Richards
Derek Zeigler
Marcus Chu

Brandon Steinberg
Charlie Baumann
Seth Cantarini
Matthew Dalton
Justin Anderson
Carson Stohler

Tre Louis
Sean An
Jenna Martz